Resetting your Nikon digital single lens reflex (SLR) camera

The chart below shows the various different positions of the two reset buttons depending on the camera model.

Camera Button 1 Button 2  
D40/D40X Shooting information button Playback zoom/Setting button  
D50 Shooting Mode button Self timer button  
D70 & D70s BKT Button Metering mode button  
D90 & D80 +/- Exposure Compensation button AF Mode button  
D600, D610 +/- Exposure Compensation button Thumbnail button  
D100 Flash mode button BKT Button  
D800(E), D700, D200, D300, D300S & D7000 QUAL (image quality/Size) +/- Exposure Compensation button  
D5000 Information button Information edit button  
D5100, D5200, D5300 Menu button Information button  
D1 series FUNC (function) button Thumbnail button  
D60 Playback zoom in button Active D-Lighting button  
D2 & D3 Series, D4 ISO button IWhite Balance button  
       


Please refer to the user manual for more information on which settings are restored to factory default as a result of the two button reset. Settings in the Custom menu are not affected by the two button method.
To perform a full reset of the Custom menus, select the reset option in the custom menu (users of the D7000, D200, D300, D300S, D700, D2 series , D3 series, and D4 may also need to perform a reset in the Shooting menu to reset all functions).
Resetting the D3100
The D3200 and D3100 do not have a 2 button reset option. To perform a reset you need to manually choose the reset option in the Shooting Menu and the Setup menu. To do this press 'Menu', select the Shooting Menu and scroll through the options until 'Reset Shooting Options' is highlighted, press ok, highlight 'Yes' and press ok again. Repeat this for the Setup menu.
Full reset
The D3000, D100, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70 or D80 can be returned to the Factory default settings by pressing the button outlined in the illustrations below, the cameras will be reset to "out of the box" condition. Note that this will reset the time and date stored in the camera and the correct time and date will need to be setting, any custom curves that have been loaded to the camera will also be erased.

It is advised to only perform the full reset on the direct instruction of Nikon support staff.